Signs of Life? Not Really


The arrival of the warmer seems to have done something to the river, as the margins were full of fry on Saturday, the first time I’ve seen that this season, and a welcome sight too. Then, when I cast a line into the water, there were signs of crayfish activity – not normally something I’d welcome, but coupled with the signs that the fish had been breeding I felt hopeful that things were returning to normal after the stuttering start to the season. But either things are not yet all right in the riverine environment, or I’m doing something badly wrong, as I failed to get a single bite. The feedback I’m getting from others on the bank suggests that I’m  not the only one struggling to find the fish, so it seems the problem could well be the river and its inhabitants. Worried 😦

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 24 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,625 hits
