Depressing Start to Season


Following the dismal opening session of the new season, for my second trip I went to a stretch that had always produced for me in the past, although I hadn’t fished it for several years. I more or less had my pick of swims, which surprised for this popular venue, so settled into a spot that had a good reputation in years gone by.

I was encouraged early on when a small barbel rose close to where one of my baits was lying. But this proved to be a false hope, as the day remained totally biteless. After that one sight of a fish, the river seemed completely lifeless, not even crayfish were plucking at the bait.

I hope that the lack of bites from the two normally productive Kennet venues that I’ve fished so far is only down to the fish being in spawning mode rather than feeding mode, and is not a further indication of the crash in barbel populations that seems to have affected the Kennet in recent years.

On a wildlife note, I spotted several raptors (of the bird kind, not the Jurassic Park ones), buzzards, a red kite, kestrel an a sparrowhawk. I also heard a cuckoo for the first time in many years.

River Kennet

River Kennet

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,634 hits
